When will the lawyers learn?

4 09 2008

Back in the dark past of my days as a journalist, I remember writing about Hotmail’s terms of use. The included a fun clause that gave Microsoft joint copyright over anything you sent through Hotmail: email someone your screenplay, Microsoft can make a movie. Thankfully some people do read these things before clicking “Agree”; there was outcry; and the clause was quietly withdrawn.

Here we are, what must be 10 years later, and Google puts a clause up with Chrome that, according to the Sydney Morning Herald,

… stipulated that Google had a perpetual right to use any content entered into the browser – quickly earned Google a slap on the wrist from early adopters.

The search giant quickly did an about-face, modifying that section of its terms of service to say the user retained all rights to the content.

It said the issue arose because Google liked to use the same set of legal terms for all of its products in order to keep things simple for users. Sometimes that meant some terms did not apply well to the use of a specific product.

Sure, that makes sense: thrifty Google recycling one legal document to use on something else. Brilliant. I might save some money on lawyers by using my lease as my will. Smart.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 04 2013
nokia e5 specification

hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked
up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective interesting
content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

24 04 2013
msn hotmail

magnificent issues altogether, you simply won a new reader.
What could you recommend in regards to your publish that you
just made some days in the past? Any positive?

7 05 2013
www.seoorganics.net

I enjoy reading through a post that will make people think.

Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

